Robbins Prize 2023 Nominations Open

ARCH 2023 Robbins Prize Nominations Open The Advanced Research Computing at Hopkins facilities (ARCH) is now accepting PhD student and postdoc nominations for the Mark O. Robbins Prize.  The Mark O. Robbins prize was established in 2021 to commemorate the enduring legacy of the late Dr. Mark Robbins of the Department of Physics and Astronomy.  […]

ARCH Selects Recipients of 2022 Mark O. Robbins Prize

Advanced Research Computing at Hopkins (ARCH) is honored to announce the winners of the 2022 Mark O. Robbins Prize in high performance computing.  We would also like to thank our funding partners whose support makes these prizes possible:  The Hopkins Extreme Materials Institute (HEMI), the Institute for Data-Intensive Engineering and Science (IDIES),  and the departments of Physics, […]

Rockfish Named #414 in’s June 2022 Top 500

Top 500 Rockfish

ARCH At the beginning of June, 2022, released their semi-annual list of the most powerful High Performance Computing systems in the world. We are proud to report that our very own Rockfish Cluster at Johns Hopkins ranked #414 at 1.9TFLOPs (trillions of calculations per second). Rockfish was also ranked 17th among US academic institutions. Watch for Rockfish on future […]

Somnath Ghosh Awarded 2022 Raymond D. Mindlin Medal

Mindlin Somnath Gosh winner

Somnath Ghosh Awarded 2022 Raymond D. Mindlin Medal We are honored to share that the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) has selected Somnath Ghosh Ph.D., F.EMI, M.ASCE as the recipient of the 2022 Raymond D. Mindlin Medal. The Mindlin Medal, established in 2008 to honor late Columbia University Professor Raymond D. Mindlin, is awarded […]